IOW Logo
Header Phytoplankton

Phytoplankton succession and produktion

The phytoplankton, being the principal primary producer, forms the base of the food pyramid and has to be considered in all projects regarding the complexity of the entire ecosystem. It reacts directly on nutrient input (eutrophication) and is therefore an important parameter in the long-term monitoring programme of the Helsinki Commission (HELCOM). It may serve as an indicator for the state of a water and is therefore also a parameter in the EU Water Framework Directive.

The existing phytoplankton data bank is mainly based on monitoring cruises that are conducted regularly since 1979. The phytoplankton is analysed qualitatively and quantitatively by experienced members of this working group, who are involved in regular quality assurance measures (e.g. QUASIMEME, HELCOM-Phytoplankton-Expert Group). The data are transferred to the German Oceanographic Data Centre (DOD) at BSH and to ICES. They form a basis for the long-term assessments of the state of the Baltic Sea and for numerous research projects.

The working group has comprehensive expertise on phytoplankton taxonomy and analysis of plant pigments (e.g. chlorophyll) and primary production. Cyanobacteria, including their nitrogen fixation, are of special interest. The phytoplankton data are evaluated regarding their spatial distribution, seasonal development and long-term trends, always in relation to the environmental factors. This is done in close cooperation with oceanographers and hydrochemists.

Members

Thalassionema nitzschioides
Chaetoceros decipiens

IOW Logo
Header Phytoplankton

Phytoplanktonsukzession und Produktion

Das Phytoplankton bildet als wesentlicher Primärproduzent die Basis der Nahrungspyramide und ist deshalb in allen Projekten berücksichtigt, die das Ökosystem in seiner Gesamtheit und Komplexität betrachten. Es reagiert unmittelbar auf Nährstoffeinträge und ist deshalb ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Langzeit-Umweltüberwachung durch die Helsinki Commission (HELCOM). Es kann als Indikator für den Gewässerzustand dienen und ist deshalb auch ein Parameter für die EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie und die Meeresstrategie-Rahmenrichtlinie.

Die vorhandene Phytoplankton-Datenbank basiert im Wesentlichen auf den seit 1979 regelmäßig durchgeführten Terminfahrten. Das Phytoplankton wird qualitativ und quantitativ durch Mitarbeiter/innen mit langjähriger Expertise untersucht. Die Mitarbeiter/innen der AG Phytoplankton nehmen regelmäßig an nationalen und internationalen Qualitätssicherungsmaßnahmen (z.B. QUASIMEME, HELCOM-Phytoplankton-Expertengruppe) teil. Die Daten gehen an das Deutsche Ozeanographische Datenzentrum (DOD) am BSH und von dort in die ICES-Datenbank. Sie bilden die Grundlage für die Langzeit-Zustandseinschätzung der Ostsee sowie für zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte.

Neben umfassender taxonomischer Expertise zu Phytoplanktonarten der Ostsee und des Atlantik gibt es umfangreiche Erfahrungen zur Bestimmung von Chlorophyll und Primärproduktion. Besonderes Interesse gilt den Cyanobakterien und ihrer Stickstoff-Fixierung. Die Daten werden bezüglich ihrer räumlichen Verteilung, saisonalen Entwicklung sowie ihrer Langzeittrends ausgewertet. Dabei steht der ganzheitliche Ökosystem-Ansatz, d.h. die Beziehung zur Umwelt, im Vordergrund. Dementsprechend besteht eine enge Kooperation mit Ozeanographen und Hydrochemikern.

MitarbeiterInnen

Thalassionema nitzschioides
Chaetoceros decipiens