IOW Logo

BRIESE Award for Marine Research

The shipping company Briese Schiffahrts GmbH & Co. KG (Leer), together with the Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research Warnemünde (IOW), has been awarding the "BRIESE Prize for Marine Research" since 2010. The prize, which is awarded annually, is intended to reward outstanding PhD theses in marine research, the results of which are particularly closely linked to the use of research vessels and the use and development of technology and/or data collection at sea. The prize is awarded annually by a jury and is endowed with 5000 euros. The prize money is donated by the shipping company Briese Schiffahrts GmbH & Co. KG.

The members of the scientific jury are

  • Dr. Marcus Dengler, GEOMAR, Kiel
  • Prof. Dr. Dierk Hebbeln, MARUM, Bremen
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Labrenz, IOW, Warnemünde
  • Prof. Dr. Karin Lochte, former AWI, Bremerhaven
  • Dr. Helena Osterholz, IOW Warnemünde

The new call for applications for the Briese Prize 2024 will be published here in the second half of 2024.

Information on the sponsor:

Briese Schiffahrt GmbH & Co. KG, based in Leer, was founded in 1984 by Captain Roelf Briese (naval architect). Today, more than 225 highly qualified employees from Germany and abroad ensure that the tasks at hand run smoothly from land. In addition, over 2,000 employees from various countries around the world carry out transport tasks on board the ships. BRIESE RESEARCH, as part of Briese Schiffahrts GmbH & Co. KG is responsible for the management of the German research vessels ALKOR, ELISABETH MANN BORGESE, HEINCKE, LITTORINA, MARIA S. MERIAN, METEOR, SENCKENBERG and SONNE.

More about previous BRIESE Award winners (in German)