IOW Logo
Header: Das Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde


IOW Board of Governors

The Board of Governors directs the institute under Section 5, paragraph 2 of the Implementation Agreement of the Framework Agreement on the Joint Promotion of Scientific Research.

The Board of Governors is tasked with supervising fundamental affairs of the institute, as well as advising and making appropriate recommendations on financial matters.


Woldemar Venohr
Ministry of Science, Culture, Federal and European Affairs Mecklenburg-West Pomerania,
Head of the Department 3

Deputy Chair:

Dr. Zage Kaculevski
Federal Ministry for Education and Research, Head of the Division 724

Prof. Dr. Katja Fennel
Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada

Peter Grönwoldt
Federal Ministry for Education and Research

Prof. Dr. Helge Heegewaldt
President of the Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency

Sabine Müller
Innomar Technology Rostock

Prof. Dr. Elizabeth Prommer
Rector of the University of Rostock

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Board of Governors and the Director on research matters, makes recommendations to the institute’s working groups and promotes collaboration with domestic and international institutions. It comments on the director’s annual report, evaluates the scientific work of the institute, advises on appointment of faculty and reports its findings to the Board of Governors.

The Scientific Advisory Board consists of at most 10 members, both domestic and international scientists whose specialties are related to the scientific goals of the institute. Members of the board serve terms of at most four years and can be reappointed only once. The members can be nominated by the Director of the institute.


Prof. Dr. Katja Fennel


Dalhousie University,
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Deputy Chair:

Prof. Dr. Heinz Wilkes


Universität Oldenburg


Prof. Dr. Katarina Abrahamsson


University of Gothenburg, Department of Marine Science, Denmark


Prof. Dr. Gerhard Herndl


Universität Wien, Abt. Limnologie und Ozeanographie, Austria


Prof. Dr. Christian Hübscher


Universität Hamburg, Marine Seismik und Hydroakustik


Prof. Dr. Jack Middelburg


University of Utrecht,
The Netherlands


Dr. Uta Passow


Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada


Prof. Dr. Niels Peter Revsbech


Aarhus University,


Prof. Dr. Anna Rutgersson


Uppsala University,

Scientific Council

The Scientific Council advises the Director and the Board of Governors on the institute’s important scientific matters. The council advises on the establishment and dissolution of sections, and the appointment and dismissal of the director, section leaders and members of the Scientific Advisory Board.

The council includes all of the section leaders, their deputies and four elected scientists from the institute. These four members are elected to three-year terms under electoral regulations adopted by the whole institute and agreed to by the Director and Board of Trustees.


Prof. Dr. Matthias Labrenz
Department Biological Oceanography

Deputy Chair:

Prof. Dr. Markus Meier
Head of department Physical
Oceanography and Instrumentation

Prof. Dr. Helge Arz
Head of department Marine Geology

Prof. Dr. Michael E. Böttcher
Deputy of department Marine Geology

Prof. Dr. Hans Burchard
Deputy of department Physical
Oceanography and Instrumentation

Prof. Dr. Klaus Jürgens
Deputy of department Biological Oceanography

Dr. Jerome Kaiser
Department Marine Geology

Dr. Volker Mohrholz
Department Physical Oceanography and Instrumentation

Prof. Dr. Gregor Rehder
Head of department Marine Chemistry

Dr. Oliver Schmale
Department Marine Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Heide Schulz-Vogt
Head of department Biological Oceanography