Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde
IOW Logo

Volker Mohrholz - Fields of activity

Variability of estuarine circulation of the Baltic Sea and dynamics of water exchange

The Baltic Sea is one of the largest brackish water areas in the world. River discharge and the inflow of saline water from the North Sea drive a thermohaline circulation, which influence the Baltic Sea ecosystem in many ways. Due to the long residence time of the water of about 30 years, changes in the overall budget of salt, nutrients and pollutants occur only very slowly. On the other hand, due to its shallow depth, the Baltic Sea reacts much more strongly and quickly to climatic changes. An understanding of the dynamic processes is therefore of fundamental importance for the protection and sustainable use of the Baltic Sea.  As part of the IOW long-term observation programme, our working group operates two long-term moorings in the eastern Gotland Basin. In addition, the exchange of water between the Baltic Sea and the North Sea is one focus of our work.

See also:   Major Baltic Inflow

Upwelling, water mass dynamics and oxygen minimum in the Benguela system

The Benguela upwelling system off south-western Africa is among the most productive marine ecosystems on our planet. In contrast to other major upwelling systems the Benguela comprises large hypoxic and anoxic shelf areas, which have strong influences on the recruitment strategies of many species inhabiting these areas. Annual fish catches in Benguela are an order of magnitude smaller than that of the Humboldt system despite the similar high levels of primary production in both systems. The oxygen poor environment on the shelf has been sustained for millenniums. This requires balanced oxygen and nutrient budgets, which are generally believed to be controlled primarily by large-scale circulation. These basin scale dynamics is overlayed with the mesoscale upwelling dynamics, forced by the local wind fields. The upwelling process lifts large amounts of nutrients into the euphotic layer and feeds the primary production. 

The focus of our work is on:

  • the interaction between remote and local forcing
  • the exchange between the shelf area and the adjacent ocean
  • and on small scale processes (turbulence, internal waves) that have a major impact on vertical fluxes.

 

Turbulent processes in shelf seas

Turbulent processes influence and control marine systems in many ways. At interfaces such as surface, seafloor or halocline, breaking waves or current shear cause the conversion of kinetic energy into turbulent kinetic energy, which can increase mixing and vertical transport of constituents and impulses by orders of magnitude. The measurement of turbulence parameters allows the quantification of turbulent mixing. Our group is specialized in the measurement of marine turbulence using free-falling microstructure probes and acoustic current meters, and uses this expertise in all ongoing projects.

Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde
IOW Logo

Volker Mohrholz - Arbeitsgebiete

Variabilität der estuarinen Zirkulation der Ostsee und Dynamik des Wasseraustausches

Die Ostsee ist eins der größten Brackwassermeere. Frischwasserzuflüsse und der Einstrom salzreichen Wassers aus der Nordsee treiben eine thermohaline Zirkulation an, deren Dynamik in vielfältiger Weise das Ökosystem der Ostsee beeinflusst. Durch die lange Residenzzeit des Wassers von etwa 30 Jahren, erfolgen Änderungen im Gesamtbudget von Salz, Nähr- und Schadstoffen nur sehr langsam. Andererseits reagiert die Ostsee wegen ihrer geringen Tiefe deutlich stärker und schneller auf klimatische Änderungen. Ein Verständnis der dynamischen Prozesse ist deshalb von grundlegender Bedeutung für den Schutz und die nachhaltige Nutzung der Ostsee.  Im Rahmen des IOW Langzeitbeobachtungsprogrammes betreibt unsere Arbeitsgruppe zwei Langzeitverankerungen im östlichen Gotlandbecken. Daneben steht vor allem der Wasseraustausch zwischen Ostsee und Nordsee im Fokus unserer Arbeit.

Siehe auch:   Major Baltic Inflow

Auftrieb, Wassermassendynamik und Sauerstoffminimum im Benguela System

Das Benguela-Auftriebsystem vor südwest Afrika gehört zu den produktivsten marinen Ökosystemen unseres Planeten. Im Gegensatz zu anderen großen Auftriebssystemen umfasst der Benguela große hypoxische und anoxische Schelfgebiete, die einen starken Einfluss auf die Rekrutierungsstrategien vieler Arten haben, die in diesen Gebieten leben. Die jährlichen Fischfänge in Benguela sind trotz der ähnlich hohen Primärproduktion um eine Größenordnung geringer als die des Humboldtsystems. Die sauerstoffarmen Bedingungen auf dem Schelf seit Jahrtausenden etabliert. Dazu bedarf es eines ausgeglichenen Sauerstoff- und Nährstoffhaushalts, der hauptsächlich durch die großräumige Zirkulation gesteuert wird. Diese Dynamik auf der Beckenskala wird von der mesoskaligen Auftriebsdynamik überlagert. Die lokalen Windfelder treiben einen intensiven Küstenauftrieb der große Mengen an Nährstoffen in die euphotische Schicht transportiert und so die Primärproduktion speist.

Der Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit im Benguela liegt auf:

  • der Interaktion zwischen fernwirkendem und lokalem Antrieb
  • dem Austausch zwischen Schelfgebiet und dem angrenzenden Ozean
  • und auf kleinskaligen Prozessen (Turbulenzen, interne Wellen), die einen großen Einfluss auf die vertikalen Transporte haben.

Turbulente Prozesse in Schelfmeeren

Turbulente Prozesse beeinflussen und steuern marine Systeme in vielfältiger Weise. An Grenzflächen wie Oberfläche, Meeresboden oder der Halokline sorgen brechende Wellen, oder Stromscherung für die Umwandlung kinetischer Energie in turbulente kinetische Energie, die die Vermischung und den vertikalen Transport von Inhaltsstoffen und Impuls um Größenordnungen verstärken kann. Die Messung von Turbulenzparametern ermöglicht die Quantifizierung der turbulenten Vermischung. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe hat sich auf die Messung von mariner Turbulenz mit Hilfe von freifallenden Mikrostruktursonden sowie akustischen Strömungsmessern spezialisiert, und nutzt diese Expertise in allen laufenden Projekten.