Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde
IOW Logo

Maxi Hoche

Maxi Hoche
Address:
Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research
Seestrasse 15
D-18119 Rostock
Germany
Phone:
+49 381 5197 134
Fax:
+49 381 5197 105
E-Mail:

 

P-Campus Logo

Phosphorus (P) plays an important role in the environment as an essential element for all living organisms and is at the same time of central importance in a multitude of agricultural and industrial production processes. On the one hand, the availability of this raw material, which is only available in finite deposits, will soon be drastically limited without more sustainable and efficient use, which may even endanger the nutrition of the growing world population in the longer term. Inefficient P use in agriculture, on the other hand, is often a cause of considerable environmental problems, such as e.g. the eutrophication of waters.

This is where the Leibniz ScienceCampus Phosphorus Research Rostock (P-Campus) comes in, in which the IOW, the LIKAT, the FBN, the IPK and the INP and the University of Rostock have joined forces to pool their expertise. Due to comprehensive basic and applied research, strategies for more efficient and sufficiency-oriented P use are to be found together. With the start of the second funding period of the P-Campus by the Leibniz Association, about 100 scientists are conducting interdisciplinary research in four main research areas (clusters) and a new cross-sectional topic:
Cluster I: "P in the environment – P pools and mobilization potential in lowlands and coastal regions"
Cluster II: "Sufficiency and efficiency of P utilisation, P recycling - Agricultural P recycling options"
Cluster III: "P in synthesis and catalysis"
Cluster IV: "Molecular biology of P - The central role of P in signaling and metabolism from cells to ecosystems"
Cross-sectional topic V: "P Governance"

The centre of the P-Campus are the coordination office and the graduate school. The coordination office is the contact point for all members looking for project partners and analytical methods, but also for external persons, e.g. representatives of regional ministries, environmental agencies, journalists, etc., and arranges contact with the P-Campus members. This also includes, for example, the organisation of so-called associate memberships in the P-Campus. In addition, the coordination office presents the P-Campus in public and organises events such as the annual "International P-Campus Symposium" or public lecture series on the topic of phosphorus. This support for networking and the organisation of events also serves in particular to network and promote the interdisciplinarity of all doctoral students in the P-Campus. The coordination office thus is the key element of the P-Campus for both members and external parties.

Coordinator in the coordination office: Dr. Dana Zimmer
Assistant in the coordination office: Maxi Hoche

Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde
IOW Logo

Maxi Hoche

Maxi Hoche
Adresse:
Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung
Seestrasse 15
D-18119 Rostock
Telefon:
+49 381 5197 134
Fax:
+49 381 5197 105
E-Mail:

 

P-Campus Logo

Phosphor (P) spielt als essenzielles Element für alle Lebewesen eine wichtige Rolle in der Umwelt und ist zugleich in einer Vielzahl von landwirtschaftlichen und industriellen Produktionsprozessen von zentraler Bedeutung. Die Verfügbarkeit des nur in endlichen Lagerstätten vorhandenen Rohstoffs wird auf der einen Seite ohne nachhaltigere und effizientere Nutzung schon bald drastisch eingeschränkt sein, was längerfristig sogar die Ernährung der wachsenden Weltbevölkerung gefährden kann. Andererseits ist die ineffiziente P-Nutzung in der Landwirtschaft dagegen oft eine Ursache für erhebliche Umweltprobleme, wie z. B. die Überdüngung von Gewässern.

An diesem Punkt setzt der Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Phosphorforschung Rostock (P-Campus) an, in dem sich zur Bündelung ihrer fachlichen Kompetenzen das IOW, das LIKAT, das FBN, das IPK und das INP und die Universität Rostock zusammengeschlossen haben. Durch umfassende Grundlagen- und Anwendungsforschung sollen gemeinsam Strategien für eine effizientere und suffizientere P-Nutzungen gefunden werden. Mit dem Beginn der zweiten Förderperiode des P-Campus durch die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft forschen über 100 Wissenschaftler*innen interdisziplinär in vier Forschungsschwerpunkten (Cluster) und einem neuen Querschnittsthema:
Cluster I: „P in der Umwelt - P-Pools und Mobilisierungspotential im Flachland und in Küstenregionen“
Cluster II: „Suffizienz und Effizienz der Phosphornutzung, Phosphorrecycling – landwirtschaftliche P-Recycling-Möglichkeiten“
Cluster III: „Phosphor in der Katalyse und Synthese“
Cluster IV: „Die Molekularbiologie des P – die zentrale Rolle von P in den Signalwegen und im Metabolismus von der Zelle zum Ökosystem“
Querschnittsthema V: „P-Governance“

Den Mittelpunkt des P-Campus bilden das Koordinationsbüro und die Graduiertenschule. Das Koordinationsbüro ist die Kontaktstelle für alle Mitglieder auf der Suche nach Projektpartnern und Analysenmethoden, aber auch für externe Personen, z. B. Vertreter der regionalen Ministerien, Umweltämter, Journalisten usw. und vermittelt den Kontakt zu den P-Campus-Mitgliedern. Darunter fällt beispielsweise auch die Organisation von sogenannten assoziierten Mitgliedschaften im P-Campus. Außerdem präsentiert das Koordinationsbüro den P-Campus in der Öffentlichkeit und organisiert Veranstaltungen wie z. B. das jährliche „Internationale P-Campus-Symposium“ oder auch öffentliche Ringvorlesungen rund um das Thema Phosphor. Diese Förderungen der Vernetzung und die Organisation von Veranstaltung dienen insbesondere auch der Vernetzung und Förderung der Interdisziplinarität sämtlicher Doktorand*innen im P-Campus. Das Koordinationsbüro bildet somit den Dreh- und Angelpunkt des P-Campus sowohl für Mitglieder als auch Externe.

Koordinatorin im Koordinationsbüro: Dr. Dana Zimmer
Assistentin im Koordinationsbüro: Maxi Hoche